Walks Programme

Please note the walks will start at the advertised times.
Leaders may wait for five minutes for late arrivals, provided that that they have been informed of the delay. Waiting for any longer will be at the leader's discretion.
If you have any comments about walks that you've attended, please contact us by email at .
Please contact us via email at , if you notice any issues with the walk details. If you encounter problems with the "Area Map" and "Start Point" links, you might like to try looking up a walk's Grid Reference using one of these alternatives :-
Saturday, 21 October 2017 Rushton Spencer, Macclesfield Forest and Shutlingsloe Long Walk
Start: 10am 18 miles Grade: Strenuous Leader: Andrew Little 07837 965899
NOTE EARLY START TIME 10:00AM
Start and Park: Take first left down the lane after the car park for the Knot Inn, Station Road, Rushton Spencer and then go to the right.
Nearest Post Code SK11 0QU.
It may be ok to park in the pub car park, please ask for permission at the pub first.
Route Details: Disused railway line, Gritstone Trail, Winle Minn, Croker Hill, Macclesfield Forest, Shutlingsloe, Wildboarclough, Dane Valley Way:
Grid Ref: SK11 0QU

Sunday, 22 October 2017 Over Haddon and Lathkilldale Short Walk
Start: 10:30am 8 miles Grade: Moderate Leader: Cheryl Jackson 07533 240852

Meet at Car Park/Toilets in the village: DE45 1JE. Cost is 5.50 for all day parking and so people might want to car share and split this cost. Parking can be found elsewhere in the village but this is limited.

This is a circular walk starting and finishing at Over Haddon and following two rivers, Lathkill and Bradford through their respective dales. There is a steep ascent out of Cales Dale, but this is aided by a series of steps, a rest at the top and flapjack if I've made any!! Snack stops and lunch break plus a final drink option (real ales, teas, coffees and cake) at the Lathkil Hotel. We are welcome there, but our boots aren't.
Hoping for some sunshine but be prepared for mud and some slippery patches if it has been raining.
Livestock in some fields.
OS Explorer Map OL24 - White Peak area
Grid Ref: SK204664

Sunday, 29 October 2017 Hulme End. Short Walk
Start: 9:30am 11.5 miles Grade: Strenuous Leader: Tony Lennox 07403238266
Start in C.P.(with toilets)at Hulme End. Ecton, Ecton Hall,Wetton, Grindon, Warslow.
White Peak
Grid Ref: sk104594

Thursday, 2 November 2017 Shipley Country Park - moonlit walk Evening Walk
Start: 7pm 5 miles Grade: Leisurely Leader: Dave Hufton 
Moonlit Winter walk
Meet at Mapperley reservoir car park, Shipley Lane
Nearest postcode - DE7 6BR

You will need your headlight/torch.
Grid Ref: SK434437

Saturday, 4 November 2017 Derwent Edge From Fairholmes. Long Walk
Start: 10:30am 13 miles Grade: Strenuous Leader: Rob Jackson 07814558840
Park and Start at Fairholmes Visitors Centre and car park and meet outside the cafe. Ladybower Reservoir, Hope Valley. Nearest Post Code S33 0AQ:
Route: Approximately 13 mile circular route.
OL1 Dark Peak
Grid Ref: SK171893

Sunday, 5 November 2017 Hartington Short Walk
Start: 10:30am 8 miles Grade: Leisurely Leader: Andrew Yeoman 07785355237
Hartington ,Berrisford Dale, Biggin Dale, Bigginn (PH ) Start from the pond in the village centre, road side parking and pay and display. A lovely river side and field paths walk.
Grid Ref: SK127605

Sunday, 12 November 2017 Thulston Short Walk
Start: 10:30am 8 miles Grade: Leisurely Leader: Paul Adcock 07745814657
Start point Ball Lane Thulston, DE72 3TQ (nearest post code)street parking.
Thulston, Elvaston castle loop,Ambaston.
Derby 259
Grid Ref: SK410320

Wednesday, 15 November 2017 Group Annual General Meeting - "The Markeaton" Derby Other
Start: 8pm  Grade: Easy Leader: Ralf Whittaker 07946518800
All members are invited to attend the group AGM. Agenda for the evening:-
- Short briefing by existing committee members on their roles.
- Comments & feedback from group members.
- Approval of committee members for 2017/8
- Social drink & chat
Venue "The Markeaton" Public House DE222TF
http://www.emberinns.co.uk/nationalsearch/eastandwestmidlands/the-markeaton-derby
Grid Ref: SK335387

Saturday, 18 November 2017 Bleaklow and the B29 Superfortress crash site Long Walk
Start: 9:30am 10/11 miles Grade: Strenuous Leader: Dave Hufton 07752 568 618

Bleaklow and the B29 Superfortress crash site; see You Tube
Route details to follow shortly:

Sunday, 19 November 2017 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: Alison James 07841618961

Sunday, 26 November 2017 Grindleford Short Walk
Start: 10:30am 7mls miles Grade: Moderate Leader: Lisa 07963142648
White Peak

Saturday, 2 December 2017 TBA Long Walk
Leader: LEADER REQUIRED 

Sunday, 3 December 2017 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Tuesday, 5 December 2017 tba Evening Walk
Moonlit Winter walk

Saturday, 9 December 2017 Christmas walk meal and disco The Rose & Crown Mayfield Other
Leader: Robin Davison 07765515523
LONG AND SHORT WALK

Sunday, 10 December 2017 Carsington Water Short Walk
Start: 10:30am 7mls miles Grade: Moderate Leader: Paul Adcock 07745814657
Start at the Sheep wash C.P.(has large concrete sheep at entrance)nearest post code DE44DD (2.50)
Carsington pasture, Brassington, Longcliffe, High Peak Trail,Carsington.
Pub near end- Miners Arms Carsington.
White Peak
Grid Ref: SK250528

Sunday, 17 December 2017 t.b.a. Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Sunday, 24 December 2017 Christmas Eve Walk Morley Smalley Short Walk
Start: 10:30am 7.5 miles Grade: Leisurely Leader: Andrew Yeoman 07785355237
A Christmas Eve Walk in the Smalley Morley area. Starts from the Lay by on the A608 Derby Heanor Road in front of Morley Hays Golf Club there is a second lay by on the opposite side. Post Code DE7 6DG
Grid Ref: SK397422

Monday, 25 December 2017 CHRISTMAS DAY WALK Short Walk
Start: 10:30am 8 miles Grade: Moderate Leader: Andrew 07785355237
A CHRISTMAS DAY WALK Ilam, Thorpe Cloud, Dovedale Bunster Hill. Starts from Ilam Hall post code DE6 2AZ National Trust car park pay and display, road side parking near by.
Grid Ref: SK132508

Tuesday, 26 December 2017 Boxing Day Walk Ticknall Short Walk
Start: 10:30am 8/9 miles Grade: Leisurely Leader: Andrew Yeoman 07785 355237
Boxing Day Walk Ticknall, Caulk Park area. It is possible to drop out after 5 miles if anyone needs to be home early. Walk starts from the village hall car park Ingelby Lane. PLEASE MAKE A 1.00 DONATION FOR USING THE CAR PARK. Lunch stop at Caulk Abbey drinks in Ticknall after.
Grid Ref: SK354242

Monday, 1 January 2018 New Years Day walk Attingborough Short Walk
Start: 11am 8 miles Grade: Leisurely Leader: Andrew Yeoman 07785355237
8 miles Attingborough Nature Reserve, Trent Lock (PH). Starts from the visitors centre at the end of Barton Lane, access is from Chilwell retail park.
Grid Ref: SK516339

Tuesday, 2 January 2018 tba Evening Walk
Moonlit Winter walk

Sunday, 7 January 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Saturday, 13 January 2018 TBA Long Walk
Leader: LEADER REQUIRED 

Sunday, 14 January 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Sunday, 21 January 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: Shane & Sandra 07960116513

Saturday, 27 January 2018 TBA Long Walk
Leader: LEADER REQUIRED 

Sunday, 28 January 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Wednesday, 31 January 2018 tba Evening Walk
Moonlit Winter walk

Sunday, 4 February 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Saturday, 10 February 2018 TBA Long Walk
Leader: LEADER REQUIRED 

Sunday, 11 February 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Sunday, 18 February 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Saturday, 24 February 2018 TBA Long Walk
Leader: LEADER REQUIRED 

Sunday, 25 February 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Thursday, 1 March 2018 tba Evening Walk
Moonlit Winter walk

Sunday, 4 March 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Saturday, 10 March 2018 TBA Long Walk
Leader: LEADER REQUIRED 

Sunday, 11 March 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Sunday, 18 March 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Saturday, 24 March 2018 TBA Long Walk
Leader: LEADER REQUIRED 

Sunday, 25 March 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Sunday, 1 April 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Saturday, 7 April 2018 TBA Long Walk
Leader: LEADER REQUIRED 

Sunday, 8 April 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Sunday, 15 April 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Saturday, 21 April 2018 TBA Long Walk
Leader: LEADER REQUIRED 

Sunday, 22 April 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Sunday, 29 April 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Saturday, 5 May 2018 TBA Long Walk
Leader: LEADER REQUIRED 

Sunday, 6 May 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Sunday, 13 May 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Saturday, 19 May 2018 Churnet Valley Walk and short Steam Train Journey Long Walk
Start: 10am 14 miles miles Grade: Leisurely Leader: James Stern 
NOTE EARLY START TIME 10AM: Park and start at Oakamoor car park and picnic site: Nearest Post Code ST10 3AF
Long Walk - walking is mostly easy with little ascent.
Route Details: Walk to Froghall via disused trackbed of Churnet valley railway approx 3 miles, tea room at Froghall if there's time; catch 11:55 Steam Train to Cheddleton; Tickets bought at Churnet Valley Railway Station (last years ticket price 6 one way): https://www.churnet-valley-railway.co.uk
Lunch on the train (drinks can be purchased from the railway station, drinking and eating your own packed lunch/sandwiches is permitted on the train journey); disembark @ 12.35 Cheddleton; walk approx 9.5 miles along the Churnet valley (briefly stopping at Black Lion pub at Consall Forge if there's time) to Hawksmoor, then Dimmingsdale to the Rambler's Retreat tea room; have tea; walk back to Oakamoor car park, approx 1 mile.

OS Explorer 259
Grid Ref: SK053447

Sunday, 20 May 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Sunday, 27 May 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Saturday, 2 June 2018 TBA Long Walk
Leader: LEADER REQUIRED 

Sunday, 3 June 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Sunday, 10 June 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Saturday, 16 June 2018 TBA Long Walk
Leader: LEADER REQUIRED 

Sunday, 17 June 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Sunday, 24 June 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Saturday, 30 June 2018 TBA Long Walk
Leader: LEADER REQUIRED 

Sunday, 1 July 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Saturday, 7 July 2018 Summer walk & social event - BASLOW Other
For the annual summer gathering we have a new venue of Baslow Village Hall as a change from the previous Black Rocks picnic event. The format will include both long and short circular walks, returning to the Hall to share food, relax and chat together. As before you are invited to bring food to share. The Hall has toilets, kitchen, tables and chairs. This includes the facilities to heat food and make hot drinks. There is also a garden area and up to 20 free car parking spaces in addition to some free on road parking spaces. The tickets will be 5 per person to cover the cost of hiring the Hall plus sundries, i.e. tea, coffee, milk. There is also the opportunity to win a raffle prize using the number on your ticket. Tickets are available from Bob & Heather at walking events. More details of times, walks and food arrangements to follow.
See Baslow Village Hall www: https://baslowvillagehall.weebly.com/

Committee members have further information.

Sunday, 8 July 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Saturday, 14 July 2018 TBA Long Walk

Sunday, 15 July 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Sunday, 22 July 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Saturday, 28 July 2018 TBA Long Walk
Leader: LEADER REQUIRED 

Sunday, 29 July 2018 To be added Short Walk
Start: 10:30am  Leader: t.b.a. 

Saturday, 11 August 2018 TBA Long Walk
Leader: LEADER REQUIRED